GMAT 570...now what? pls advice

This topic has expert replies
Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts

GMAT 570...now what? pls advice

by rdc » Thu Apr 16, 2009 3:14 am
I gave my gmat on tuesday, 14th april... i got a 570 {Q39 V30}... my target score was 680 plus...

i started studying in January for the exam and studied quite a bit for it.. i even quit my job from a well reputed MNC to pursue the goal of scoring atleast 700.. in GMAT prep test i scored between 610 to 650... so the fact that i scored a 570 is very dissapointing... I have 2 years work ex...

My question is... which decent universities can i apply to with this score.. {anywhere in the world}... should i give it again.. if yes how should i approach my next attempt.. from my score it is clear that i am very bad in english....

Senior | Next Rank: 100 Posts
Followed by:1 members

by mkbigmoz » Thu Apr 16, 2009 1:57 pm
I would suggest you give it another shot. First, when you were scoring the mid 600's during the practice tests, were you completing the AWA's as well? If you were skipping those two essays, that can have a tremendous negative affect on your verbal scores during test day. By the time you get to the verbal section, you will be mentally exhausted and make some careless mistakes.

IMO, the verbal section is the easiest aspect to improve. I have noticed that with the Quantitative section, you are better off if you have had years of practice with algebra and math. Its a bit difficult to get back into math if the only math you have used recently is figuring out the tip for a restaurant bill. The SC questions have all types of rules which are pretty easy to remember. The CR is also pretty easy because they want you to think a particular way. I haven't taken the actual GMAT yet, but Im scoring in the 99th % (Verbal Section) for all nine of my CATS. My math...not so good;)

Junior | Next Rank: 30 Posts

Ample time to give another Shot!!!

by roma » Fri Apr 17, 2009 3:23 am
HI,