Frustrated with GMAT and admission procedure.

Free advice from the world's top MBA consultants
This topic has expert replies
Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts

Frustrated with GMAT and admission procedure.

by res123 » Fri Jan 09, 2009 5:08 pm
Hello All,
I have been browsing these sites for quite some time. I am at a stage in my life where academically, I am overwhelmed and bit frustrated. I have a very impressive resume, I took the non-traditional route of dropping out of college and opened a mortgage banking firm, which paid out very very well. Finally, I sold the company and now I am aggressively finishing up college, from a medicore school. I have 9 years of senior management experience in financial sector. My problem is that I have always been an average student, and I do well with hands-on stuff.
I feel that I almost do not want to take GMAT, not to mention that last standardized test I took was in 1996 and it has been discouraging studying for GMAT. I had hoped that given my experience and outstanding reference letters, I would have gotten admitted in a European business school. I am sure I can find ones that do not require MBA, but is it really worth getting a MBA from a medicore school? After all, it is a huge investment, as schools are not cheap anymore. Is it worth doing an MBA from a mediocre school or getting a degree, let's say in Finance or any other graduate degree from a Top notch school, that is, if they do not require a GMAT.