From law to an MBA

Launched April 26, 2006
This topic has expert replies
Senior | Next Rank: 100 Posts

From law to an MBA

by vanesslondon » Mon May 21, 2007 9:40 am
Hi Stacey,
I have been working as a lawyer in London for two years (my only two years' work experience) and would like to do an MBA.
I studied at Cambridge University and attained a good GPA, however I am worried about the GMAT because I haven't studied maths in 10 years!
I am aiming for the 700s, but we'll see about that ;)
My main question is whether business schools will look down on an applicant with a legal background.
My work has centred on banking and asset finance, so it is relevant, but I will have to really draw out leadership experience as legal work is very team led rather than allowing one individual to lead.
Are business schools hesitant to take on 'career switchers'?
What is, in yout opinion, the best way to sell my legal experience.
My honest reason for making the switch is that I am fascinated by the business decisions managers make, and in law I only execute the very formulaic part of these very interesting transactions - the wrong side of the table, so to speak.
Any advice would be gratefully received,
Many thanks in advance,
Vanessa

GMAT/MBA Expert

MBA Admissions Consultant
Followed by:113 members

by Stacy Blackman » Mon May 21, 2007 9:38 pm
Most MBA programs are looking for diversity, and there will not be a problem with a legal background. While leadership is very important, so is teamwork. You may be able to show that in a team setting you occasionally took the lead but also knew when to take a back seat, that you collaborated effectively, and that you were respectful of your peers. All of this is important and will be great for your application. The honest reason you state for switching is absolutely fine. Most MBA's are career switchers - it's a great reason for going to business school.