From 680 to 750! My GMAT journey

Find out how Beat The GMAT members tackled GMAT test prep with positive results. Get tips on GMAT test prep materials, online courses, study tips, and more.
This topic has expert replies
Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts

From 680 to 750! My GMAT journey

by vikramslayer » Fri Jul 16, 2010 7:05 pm
Hello All,

This is going to be a long one! I figured I'll throw conciseness out the window now that I'm finally done with the GMAT :-)

Like many around here, I've been a lurker. I suspect this is possibly going to be my first and last post around here. There are many posts here that have lifted my spirits during the arduous preparatory phase for the GMAT and I wanted to give back what I can to the rest of the great community out here.

My GMAT Scores:

June 5, 2010: 680 (Q 48 - 83%, V 35 - 73%) 86th percentile
July 16, 2010: 750 (Q 50 - 93%, V 42 - 95%) 98th percentile

About me:
I'm from an engineering background. I have been working for the last 5 yrs and was not really sure I had it in me to do take on GMAT.

The GMAT journey:

I decided to get an MBA around October 2009. Started preparing in earnest from December 2009. Despite my engineering background, I have always been about average at Math. For good or worse I was paranoid about quants, and concentrated heavily on it.

Study Materials Used

Quants:

- All Manhattan GMAT books (A++)
- OG 12 (A++)
- OG Quantitative Review (A++)

Verbals:
- All Manhattan GMAT books (I didn't really find them useful, More on this later)
- Power Score CR Bible and SC Bible (Worship these books!!)
- OG 12
- OG Verbal Review

A few words on the study materials I used: (Disclaimer: Its all subjective!)