Fit for my choices?

Free advice from the world's top MBA consultants
This topic has expert replies
Senior | Next Rank: 100 Posts

Fit for my choices?

by briangtsmith » Wed May 20, 2009 11:06 am
Hi all!

I've decided to apply to an MBA program, and was aiming at the following schools: USC, Georgetown, Emory, Duke, and Vanderbilt.

I graduated from The George Washington University with a 3.20 GPA in International Affairs, concentrating in East Asian Relations and having studied abroad at Tokyo's Sophia University. I am proficient in Japanese.

By the time I apply, I will have had 2.5 years of experience. After interning during college at The Ritz-Carlton, I started as a hotel manager for Disney and was part of the re-opening team at The Plaza hotel in New York. Now I am working for a real estate company hoping to acquire the skills necessary to build my own hotel. Outside the office, I have a role on a nearby condo board, representing my company's investors in property issues.

I feel and MBA will help me gain a better perspective on the global economy and the proper quantitative/financial skills necessary to start my own company.

My practice GMAT's have been between 640 and 690...do I have a shot at my schools of choice?

In advance, thank you for your assistance!

MBA Admissions Consultant
Followed by:3 members
GMAT Score:750+

by VP_MBA_Guru » Wed May 20, 2009 5:48 pm
Hi Brian,
Thanks for you post. As you probably know, its hard to gauge your candidacy based soley on your GPA, GMAT and work experience, as much of the decision is also dependent on your essays, career interests, LORs, extra curricular, etc.

That said, I think you have a good selection of schools. Georgetown and USC might be a stretch, as your GMAT and GPA are about average (maybe slightly low) for those with real estate/finance backgrounds.

I would strongly encourage you to apply in R1 for those schools.

Let us know if you have any other questions.

Regards,

N