First CAT Exam (Manhattan GMAT): 570

This topic has expert replies
Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts

First CAT Exam (Manhattan GMAT): 570

by jbk » Thu Feb 28, 2013 4:09 am
Hi All,

Today I took my first CAT exam and got an abysmal score of 570. (Q41, V28). The test was the first free CAT available from Manhattan GMAT. As advised on their website I only took the Quant and Verbal sections for this test.

Background:
I have been preparing for GMAT for last three months. In these three months I have gone through one iteration of the 8 Manhattan Strategy guides (4th Edition). I studied all of these guides back to back with the exception of the Number Properties guide, the FDP guide, and the Sentence Correction guide, which I studied around 7-8 months ago. Then I had a gap of 2-3 months before returning back to GMAT.I found these guides to extremely helpful with respect to improving conceptual clarity.

Looking Forward:
I have my GMAT exam scheduled in June and now I am wondering whether I can improve this score from 570 to 700+. Experts please reply if this 700+ target is realistic looking at my first score.

Test Analysis:
In the hindsight, before starting the test today, I had a feeling that I will score somewhere in the high 500s and my prediction came true. Part of this forecast was based on the fact that I had studied the Number properties, FDP and Sentence correction guides almost 7-8 months ago, and I knew that I had forgotten a lot of formulas and problem solving methods.

After the test I skimmed over the report generated by Manhattan and noticed that my worst performance areas were FDPs and Number properties. I am glad that at least I can predict what I know and what I don't know. During the test I had made several silly/careless mistakes that I had immediately realized after clicking "confirm"

ACTION PLAN: