Feeling Lost !! Need Strategy for preparation.

This topic has expert replies
Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts
Hi,
I have been studying on and off for GMAT from several months now . But from Oct I am seriously preparing for GMAT with 2 hrs of study everyday. I just randomly select a topic(CR,SC,DS,PS) and work few problems each day. I dont have a clear strategy. I am good in quant but make silly mistakes sometimes.

I have solved most of the questions for Magoosh and also solved all materials of Knewton online.

How should I plan my studies ? Which CAT should I take to access my skills at prep stage ?

Please help me as I feel I am running in just any direction without clear strategy.

GMAT/MBA Expert

Elite Legendary Member
Followed by:511 members
GMAT Score:800

by [email protected] » Mon Oct 06, 2014 10:33 am
Hi crezme,

There are a variety of ways to go about studying for the GMAT. As such, we need to better define your goals, timeline, strengths and weaknesses, so that we can put together a suitable study plan.

I'd like to know a bit more about your situation:

1) What is your goal score?
2) When are you planning to take the GMAT?
3) When are you planning to apply to Business School?

From what you wrote, it sounds like you have NOT taken any practice CAT Tests. It's important to take FULL-length CATs at regular intervals, so that you can measure your progress and figure out what subject areas require more practice. You should plan to take one soon (you can download 2 for free from www.mba.com). A FULL CAT takes almost 4 hours to complete, so make sure that you've set aside enough time to do so. Once you have those scores, you should report back here.