EVALUATION - MBA CANDIDACY

Launched April 26, 2006
This topic has expert replies
Junior | Next Rank: 30 Posts

EVALUATION - MBA CANDIDACY

by drdevious » Mon Sep 15, 2008 2:28 pm
MY PROFILE:

I am a 32 year old Male, US citizen, currently living in Pakistan where I completed my Medical Education in 2002 having received a M.B.B.S degree. After graduation I took some time off and established a private business venture dealing with Health care, Real estate and Stock Investments. In 2006, after establishing the venture, I decided to resume my postgraduate medical education. I have been working in a tertiary care hospital in Pakistan for the last 3 years. My clinical experience has been quite diverse. I have done rotations in Critical Care Medicine which includes Nephrology, Cardiology and Internal Medicine. In addition, I have spent a year and a half in Dermatology.

Having obtained my basic medical education and training, I am interested in expanding and diversifying my career options. I'm interested in pursuing a MBA so I can enter the Health care, Pharmaceutical or Biotechnology industry.

In my medical school we were evaluated by an annual exam in which 50% was Passing. At the end of the year we would receive a mark sheet with marks for each subject. We don't really have or follow a GPA system.

I have just started along the MBA route and haven't given the GMAT yet.

Work experience has been my private business venture and 3 years postgraduate training in Medicine. I don't have “corporate” experience.

I am a member of various medical societies and have participated in medical conferences in Europe and South Asia.

I have 3 research publications under my belt.

I have participated in numerous volunteer and community activities – Red Cross, Earthquake relief and Social Welfare.

Extracurricular activities include weightlifting, computers and movies.