Entrepreneur - Is it worth the MBA?

Launched April 26, 2006
This topic has expert replies
Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts

Entrepreneur - Is it worth the MBA?

by tooconfidential » Mon Nov 20, 2006 10:06 am
I really appreciate your effort in helping us find where we stand in the admissions process. Thank you, Stacy!

My life has been taking entrepreneur path and now I am exhausted after my diligent work so far. Results have been appalling but with lot of innovation through out the career. I just feel that I am still learning the trade and not too far from glory.

I have my bachelors from the top school in India and a masters from states. My first job was under a gentleman with excellent track record and whose work is a case study at MIT Sloan. I did learn a lot under his leadership and then worked as a Director in one of the startups in the Bay Area. Entrepreneur blood was just rising then and I decided to call it a day and start something on my own with zero investment. We did manage to come up with a product which earned my unit to bootstrap and then with two more products (one of a kind). I have been thinking out of the box and came up with a cool service which we will start offering in Q1 of 2007. We are 20 now but need to get VCs at this point. I really detest VCs as my first boss did. I will turn 28 early next year (though my hair has already turned grey :D ) and want to pursue MBA from top school in UK or US. I am tempted for schools in UK as they have one year program and I do not see any ROI with two years program.

I just registered for GMAT test in first week of Dec and found BTG.

My questions to you, Stacy.

a) What is a good score to get into top schools in UK or US? I know there isn't any cutoff but I feel I may get somewhere between 650-730 depending upon the time I put in. Would it suffice or lest I should cancel and worry next year if I get time.