Educational background - enough quant for an MBA?

Share tips as you apply, write essays, interview...
This topic has expert replies
Junior | Next Rank: 30 Posts
Hi

I am aiming for a top 15 MBA program in fall 2011 and have a few questions regarding my educational (quantitative) background.

I have a BSc in business and communication and currently work in a Big4 consulting firm, as a financial advisor (3 years work experience).

Before going to college, I wanted to work within communication, hence my choice of BSc program. My BSc had little or no quantitative courses (the program focused on communication and "soft" business theories). But while I was studying, I realized that this was not the field for me, I wanted to "work with numbers" did lots of networking which finally got me a great job in a top talent program for a Big4 company after finishing my BSc.

My question is: How will the admission comitee evaluate my educational background regarding my limited quantitave courses from my BSc? Even though my 3 years of work experience is highly quantitative and analytical? I believe a strong GMAT score (especially on the quant section) will be helpful, but is it enough?

I have thought about taking some quant classes (e.g statistics, econometrics) at the university in my home town to boost my educational part of my CV, but would very much like to hear your opinioin regarding this.

Thanks in advance.

Kind regards,

MBA Admissions Consultant
Followed by:68 members
GMAT Score:750

by Bryant@VeritasPrep » Thu May 06, 2010 2:38 pm