DONE with the GMAT! - 710 (Q 49, V 37)

Find out how Beat The GMAT members tackled GMAT test prep with positive results. Get tips on GMAT test prep materials, online courses, study tips, and more.
This topic has expert replies
Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts

DONE with the GMAT! - 710 (Q 49, V 37)

by fzerojones » Mon Sep 06, 2010 2:11 pm
Hello everyone,

Another success story here. Last Thursday was my first and last shot at the GMAT: 710! It was a long battle, but I put in a *lot* of effort and had some great assistance along the way.

Background: I moved to the US several years ago and attended a top-20 school where I studied engineering. I decided in April that I wanted a career change, and so signed up for Manhattan GMAT's online course. I found the course helpful, especially in Quant. I believe my intuitions with the Quant were always good, but Manhattan GMAT helped me to make sure that I had the correct approach toward all the questions the test throws at you. After the class, I took a few practice tests from mba.com and scored around 620 on all of them. Quant was around 48 and Verbal was around 28. Obviously I needed to improve on my Verbal! I read through Manhattan GMAT's sentence correction guide, but I still felt lost in a lot of situations. For some reason, REading comprehension wasn't too much of an issue, but Critical Reasoning was a bit tough. The worst part, without doubt, was sentence correction, though. I bought the PowerScore Sentence correction bible, read through it very carefully, but I still had a lot of issues on timing. I felt that I just didn't know where to start on most sentence correction questions. Obviously, you learn about splits and subject-verb and all those rules, but, i found it very difficult to figure out what rules to pay attention to and to understand what they wanted you to see.