Discrepancy in Manhattan CAT scores&GMAT Prep

This topic has expert replies
Senior | Next Rank: 100 Posts

Discrepancy in Manhattan CAT scores&GMAT Prep

by Suz » Sat Aug 18, 2012 8:50 am
Hi,

I've been studying for the gmat for 3 months now.During this timeframe, I've given three Manhattan gmat CAT exams and my scores have been 640(47Q, 31 V ) , 660 (45Q,35 V) and 670 (43 Q,38 V). Since my scores were on an upward rise,I booked a date for the end of August. However, to my dismay I gave my first GMAT Prep Exam on the 11th of August and got a 600(42 Q, 31 V).I gave another GMAT Prep exam today and I got 610(44Q, 30V). Can someone help me understand why there is such a big discrepancy in my scores? I gave all the practice tests in proper timed conditions and attempted all four sections.

I have my exam coming up in 10 days so is it a good idea for me to cancel/postpone it at this stage? I am aiming for a 700 score.

Please please help!Completely baffled!

Thank you!

Legendary Member
Followed by:26 members
GMAT Score:680

by sam2304 » Sat Aug 18, 2012 9:22 am
If you haven't taken the test at all, then I would suggest you to work on official problems for the rest of the days, maximize your strengths and take the test, but be prepared to face a score less than 700. It is very difficult to achieve 700 in such a short time given your GMATPrep scores, while it is not impossible.