Crushed by GMAT...600 (Q: 47 V: 27)

Find out how Beat The GMAT members tackled GMAT test prep with positive results. Get tips on GMAT test prep materials, online courses, study tips, and more.
This topic has expert replies
Master | Next Rank: 500 Posts

Crushed by GMAT...600 (Q: 47 V: 27)

by cata1yst » Mon Jul 27, 2009 11:31 am
I just got home from the GMAT. I am extremely frustrated and a little disheartened. I studied the past 2-3 months almost every day (efficiently I thought). I had NEVER got a score close to this low.

My practice scores are as follows:

MGMAT 1: 620 (Q: 45 V: 31)
MGMAT 2: 650 (Q: 44 V: 35)
MGMAT 4: 720 (Q: 44 V: 45)
GMAT PREP 1: 650 (Q: 44 V: 34)
MGMAT 3: 690 (Q: 44 V: 39)
GMAT PREP 2: 710 (Q: 49 V: 39)
MGMAT 5: 680 (Q: 47 V: 35)

I am not entirely sure what happened on my verbal part to receive a 27 split. I was never in that vicinity except for my first test. I was expecting a split between 46 and 49 for Quant and a split between 37 and 42 for Verbal. I guess I was way wrong.

I studied BTG, OG, and a little from Kaplan. My hit rate in the OG on the Verbal portions was around 82% (another reason I am shocked about my score).

A couple takeaways from the test:

-The AWA was a breeze. I outlined about 4 essays and wrote about 4 essays during my study process. I will be surprised if I get below a 5.

-The Quant section was much easier than I had expected. If you can do well on MGMAT Quant you will most definitely score well on the real GMAT. Expect a 2-3 point boost in that split. During the GMAT I thought I was actually doing much worse than a 47. I had to guess on a couple and I felt like I was getting questions that were way too easy to receive a 47.