Complete Debrief- 640 to 730 Q49 V41 AWA 6.0 Self Studied

Find out how Beat The GMAT members tackled GMAT test prep with positive results. Get tips on GMAT test prep materials, online courses, study tips, and more.
This topic has expert replies
Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts
First off, this is a somewhat long post but I wanted to share everything that I have learned and gotten from this studying process. I have never posted on here before but I felt it was only fair to give back and post my two cents on the whole GMAT studying process after obtaining so much great information from this site. I could never thank sites such as beatthegmat enough, everyone thinking about taking the GMAT should use this site, thank you beatthegmat.

Background
I studied engineering in undergrad from a top 25 engineering program (public school), graduated in '07 and now have three years of full time work experience with an engineering consulting firm.
Why am I taking the GMAT?
Having become somewhat bored with engineering, I wanted to look for a new possible path to go into and business school always intrigued me. My roommate had just finished his application process and having seen him successfully complete it and get into a top 5-10 school, I knew that it could be done with enough determination and drive.

Goal