Classes for Raising GPA for Engineering Undergrad

Launched April 26, 2006
This topic has expert replies
Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts
Hi All.

I am applying to B Schools this fall for the entering class of '09.

My undergraduate GPA is pretty low 2.78, however it was an engineering degree.

I want to take some classes to, I guess, mitigate these grades. I plan on taking some UC Berkeley Extension classes: I was wondering which ones would best help my case?

From what I have read, Accounting is pretty good (https://www.unex.berkeley.edu/cat/course328.html), as is basic economics classes (https://www.unex.berkeley.edu/cat/course323.html)

I plan on taking hopefully two before I apply, and another as I apply... are these the best classes to take?

I took a micro-econ class when i was an undergrad, but did pretty poorly since I spent most of my time studying my major classes...

thanks in advance... :D

GMAT/MBA Expert

MBA Admissions Consultant
Followed by:148 members

by Lisa Anderson » Wed Feb 27, 2008 5:23 pm
Dear hanakimis:

The courses you should take depend on what you are seeking from them, specifically are you trying to brush up on your math, learn terminology, and/or get a jump-start on subjects you think might be more of a challenge for you.

Finance professors will tell you that it is imperative you enter the MBA with a strong math foundation in linear math, algebra and calculus. Since you have an engineering degree, I assume you took many quantitative courses. However if you have not been working in roles where you employ the quant/analytical skills you gained in school, then you might consider taking some math courses.

If you want a jump-start on the terminology, then accounting and economics could be good choices. Likewise, if you did poorly in your undergraduate economics course, then it might be good to demonstrate a higher command of the subject through the course.

Hope that helps,
Lisa
Lisa Anderson
Consultant
Stacy Blackman Consulting