Cannot score more than 550 no matter what.....HELP!!!!

This topic has expert replies
Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts
Hello everyone,

I just discovered this forum a little while ago, lurked for a while but I'm in need of serious help. I've been prepping for the GMAT for about 4 months now, and no matter how I alter my studying strategy nothing seems to matter. I'm stuck getting 550's and scoring in the measly 57th-60th percentile range.

Preparation material:

- Kaplan GMAT Premier Program 2009 Edition + CD-Rom
- GMAT OG Review 11th edition
- GMAT OG Verbal Review 11th edition

I started preparing by doing all the background math, carefully reading through Kaplan's math review and doing the geometry/algebra/arithmetic/number properties problems. The CD-ROM that comes with the Kaplan book also has a number of timed tests for each section (25 minutes to finish roughly 16-20 problems depending on the section) and on these I am able to score quite well. I did these sections, as well as almost all of the problems from the Kaplan book.

My score on the first Kaplan CAT (they give you 4) was 540, broken down as:
- Math: 22 correct, 14 incorrect, scaled score: 29
- Verbal: 22 correct, 19 incorrect, scaled score: 31

However, my timing was pretty bad on that test, so I altered my studying and started doing 10 problems and giving myself 15 minutes to complete them. I was getting around 70% of the problems correct in this manner, plus getting my timing down.

I took the second Kaplan CAT, my score was 550 broken down as:
- Math: 18 correct, 17 incorrect, 2 not reached, scaled score: 28
- Verbal: 26 correct, 15 incorrect, scaled score: 33