Beat the GMAT (enough) and into NYU (my top choice)!!

Find out how Beat The GMAT members tackled GMAT test prep with positive results. Get tips on GMAT test prep materials, online courses, study tips, and more.
This topic has expert replies
Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts
So, I hope this quick post can help others studying. I found many of the stories on this website frustrating, particularly those posts of people with 700+ and questioning whether to retake their exam. What I've learned in this process are two VERY SIMPLE facts - both of which apply to every day life

1) don't give up, put in the effort/time and be confident in yourself
2) shoot for the best schools, even if you doubt your scores

I'm a working professional in finance, 29 yrs old and have a very busy job (definitely not a 9-5). I took the GMAT after 2 weeks of studing in 2008. I naively thought that I'd do really well, being a finance/accounting professional and having great writing and verbal experience. Well I didn't. In fact, I was actually BELOW AVERAGE in quant and slightly above average in verbal - scored a 570. Not awful for 2 weeks studying but definitely knew it would limit my school options.

Then I realized that I needed a study plan. I put in about 3 months and tried to stick to 10-15 hours per week. It was tough to stick to set dates/times given my busy schedule, but I just made sure that if I missed a Tues night, I'd study Wed morning instead. Studied mostly quant since that was where the most improvement was needed. Refreshed on key topics in verbal within 2 weeks of the test.