Beat the GMAT - 750

Find out how Beat The GMAT members tackled GMAT test prep with positive results. Get tips on GMAT test prep materials, online courses, study tips, and more.
This topic has expert replies
Junior | Next Rank: 30 Posts

Beat the GMAT - 750

by ctimpano » Sun Apr 19, 2009 10:08 pm
Target GMAT: Anything above 700
Actual: 750 (Q48, V45)
AWA: 6.0

I heard advice from a few of my peer at Bain and Company to begin studying with the GMAT Math Bible from gmathacks.com. It was more useful than any other single tool I used. I also should mention, upfront, that if you take GMATPrep early on in the process, and again at least a month later - you should be able to use each test twice. I only saw 1-2 questions in each section repeated, and those that were repeated, I could not remotely recall the answer to. The GMATPrep software also give me scores which matched my actual GMAT score quite accurately.

I should also note my study routine which I felt helped a lot. I studied 1 hour per day, every day. That's it. But I ensured that no matter how busy I was, I dedicated 1 hour. Further, each day, I would spend the first 10 minutes of my 1 hour review reviewing what I had reviewed the day before to "snowball" my learning.

Also worthwhile noting that I thought that I BOMBED the GMAT when I got to the cancel score screen. Especially because I totally guessed on the first question of each section. This is proof that not only should you not stress over the first question, but that you can actually get several questions wrong and still do well.