Application advice

Share tips as you apply, write essays, interview...
This topic has expert replies
Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts

Application advice

by M3FSQ » Tue Mar 09, 2010 2:09 pm
I am considering applying for MBA programs starting in Fall 2010. I recently graduated with a BA in Marketing and Entrepreneurship this past December and am currently working in sports marketing for a collegiate athletics program. I rushed and took the GMAT without being able to study at all or even look up much of the format of the exam. I ended up scoring a 680 with 78% in math and 80% verbal for a total percentile of 86%. My AWA section only scored a 37%. I graduated from my university with a 3.47 GPA although that does not include my previous school that I transferred from which was around a 2.1 GPA. My work experience is pretty strong (due to working while I was still an undergrad) with much responsibility even though I have not been working too long.

I would like to apply to either a sports business focused program such as the University of Oregon or a strong overall program with emphasis in entrepreneurship. I would really like to go somewhere with other talented and motivated individuals. Also, a strong sports program is being considered. Some of the schools that fit this profile for me are

Stanford
Duke
UCLA
USC
Oregon
Cal-Berkley

Is it too late in the cycle to attempt this now? I realize I would only have time for round 3 deadlines. I believe I can definitely score higher on the GMAT although I do not really want to wait another year to start. The application fee's are pretty expensive, should I attempt to apply?

Thank you and I apologize if there is any bad grammar, I am late for a meeting and am running out the door now.

Aaron

Community Manager
Followed by:27 members
GMAT Score:710

by dmateer25 » Tue Mar 09, 2010 2:22 pm