750 (98%) -- Q49 (89%) V42 (95%)

Find out how Beat The GMAT members tackled GMAT test prep with positive results. Get tips on GMAT test prep materials, online courses, study tips, and more.
This topic has expert replies
Junior | Next Rank: 30 Posts

750 (98%) -- Q49 (89%) V42 (95%)

by jplats » Sun Apr 13, 2008 5:31 pm
I rocked the GMAT! This forum was incredibly helpful to me, so in an effort to "give back," I am posting my story below ...

OVERVIEW

I took the GMAT yesterday after just under three months of studying -- nine weeks enrolled in an in-person MGMAT class and two weeks of post-class prep on my own.

Verbal came very naturally to me (I'm an editor/writer by trade), but quant was very challenging for me and I wanted to take a course that could re-teach me the concepts tested in quant. I picked MGMAT (which I learned about through this forum), b/c it seemed to have a reputation for stressing concepts and material over tips and tricks as compared to Princeton Review and Kaplan.

PRACTICE TESTS

Pre-Class:
MGMAT 1: 610

Middle of Class:
MGMAT 2: 680

Post-Class:
MGMAT 3: 720
MGMAT 4: 720
MGMAT 5: 720
MGMAT 6: 730
GMATPrep 1: 730
GMATPrep 2: 760
GMATPrep 1 (Re-take 1): 740
GMATPrep 2 (Re-take 1): 760
GMATPrep 1 (Re-take 2): 750
GMATPrep 2 (Re-take 2): 770

ACTUAL TEST: 750 (98%) -- Q49 (89%) V42 (95%)

I took the GMATPrep exams three times each -- a tip I got from another poster on this forum that proved incredibly helpful.

I didn't specify the Q/V breakdown for each of these above, but basically, in every practice I took after the class ended I consistently scored in the 70 percentile range for Q and the 94-99 percentile range for V. So I focused all of my prep time outside of full-length practice tests on drills of quant problems from the OG guides.