730 First Attempt! How accurate is the Unofficial?

Find out how Beat The GMAT members tackled GMAT test prep with positive results. Get tips on GMAT test prep materials, online courses, study tips, and more.
This topic has expert replies
Senior | Next Rank: 100 Posts
GMAT Score:730
I just took the GMAT for the first time this past Saturday (12/05). Unofficial, I scored a 730 (50 Q, 37 V). I'm also fairly confident that I scored highly on the essays.

1. I feel 20 pounds lighter without that "GMAT Monkey" on my back.
2. Thanks to beatthegmat.com for providing all the resources and connecting all our minds in preparation for the common task.
3. How accurate is the unofficial score? I verified percentiles with mba.com. But, I won't get the offical for 20 days.

My preparation:
1. My diagnostic score was approximately 680 (with some idea as to the question types that would be asked).
2. I studied for approximately two months for the exam (about 16 hours a week).
3. I really only wanted to take the exam once. I wanted to score high enough the first time for entry into my school of choice).
3. I took approximately 9 different CATs during my preparation. These were, by far, the best way to prepare for the the "taking" of the test.
4. I found that the best way to "push" my results into the 700s was to utilize the resources on this site for individual challenge problems and for strategy methodology. Nothing improves your score and reduces your per problem time like having a plan/approach for each and every type of problem.

A few notes on preparation in general:
  • I read that you want to study to YOUR habits. I've never been a 3+ hour studier. So, I tried to break up my studying into smaller 1-2 hour chunks. I found that this worked very well for me.