710 (Q49, V39)

Find out how Beat The GMAT members tackled GMAT test prep with positive results. Get tips on GMAT test prep materials, online courses, study tips, and more.
This topic has expert replies
Junior | Next Rank: 30 Posts
GMAT Score:710

710 (Q49, V39)

by klamation » Thu Sep 04, 2008 11:43 am
PR CAT 1: 590
PR CAT 2: 650
GMAT Prep 1: 620 40Q/36V (1 month before the test)
GMAT Prep 2: 710 47Q/40V (3 days before the test)

Resources used:

OG and supplements
GMAT Math Bible
Jeff's OG and Quant supplement explanations
MGMAT SC
ARCO AWA book
GMAT Prep

I studied for everyday for 8 weeks straight. Three hours on weeknights and 6-8 hours on the weekends. I did every problem in the OG and supplements multiple times, keeping a log of comments for each question whether I got it right or wrong. I also forced myself to solve quant problems multiple ways if they could be. After I exhausted the OG, I ran GMAT Prep multiple times, taking screenshots of problems to solve. Anything I got wrong, I googled the answer and learned from it.

Exam Day

AWA

I didn't prep for this too much. All I did was make a brief outline of each of the Issue questions just so I wouldn't get shoot a blank on exam day. Started off with an argument question. I got an decent question and wrote 5 paragraphs. Next, I got one of the 5 issue questions that I had hoped to avoid :( . Only wrote two points, neither of which were all that great.

Quant