710 in 3 weeks - my experience

Find out how Beat The GMAT members tackled GMAT test prep with positive results. Get tips on GMAT test prep materials, online courses, study tips, and more.
This topic has expert replies
Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts

710 in 3 weeks - my experience

by tkor » Tue May 29, 2018 8:13 am
I studied for the GMAT during my senior year of college and never gave it the attention / time it needed and didn't score well, but recently had some time while switching jobs to retake the exam at the ~2 year mark of my career. I knew that I wouldn't have a ton of time (about 3 weeks), so I planned to study full time for about 6-8 hours a day, 7 days a week. I knew that if I didn't go well, I could spend more time in the fall.

I took a Major Test Prep Cos. online course in college, and while the resources were great, I didn't feel like I extracted as much value as I could - maybe the 3 hour sessions over video conference made it easy to goof off. Anyway, I knew that I wouldn't go that route because those course take 8 weeks and I needed to get fully prepared in a much shorter time frame. I found TTP and Jeff Miller through Thumbtack and after doing a trial tutoring session with him and a couple others, I decided to go with Jeff.

A couple of reasons why I went with Jeff: he's a straight shooter - he never BS'd me and always told me what I needed to hear, not what I wanted to hear, was always available to talk via text or call, was able to motivate me when I lost sight of my goals, and was generally just very relatable; someone who I looked forward to working with rather than dreading the sessions we had together.