710 Debrief

Find out how Beat The GMAT members tackled GMAT test prep with positive results. Get tips on GMAT test prep materials, online courses, study tips, and more.
This topic has expert replies
Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts

710 Debrief

by liouedwin » Mon Sep 13, 2010 9:54 am
Hey guys,

I found this forum very useful during my 5 week preparation for the GMAT, and thought that I would share some of my experiences with those who are still studying.

Result: 710 Overall (92nd percentile), 46 Quantitative (75th percentile), 41 Verbal (92nd percentile)

Background: Graduated with honours from the University of Waterloo (in Canada) with a degree in mechanical engineering this year. I'm not a native speaker of english, but have been in Canada since grade 2 and speak the language with native fluency.

Before I started studying: Based on my previous experience with standardized math tests up here in Canada I thought I had a real solid foundation for numbers, and that verbal was going to be my downfall. However, for me at least, the way for scoring well on the GMAT math section is very different from the way for scoring well on other math tests. I believe that the reason for my struggles on the quant section was the time constraint, as I am used to reasoning stuff through in my head to see the solution path before I write down anything. I will also admit that I am extremely lazy when it comes to memorizing stuff and practice through repetition since I like to just understand something and derive it again if I need to; but this does not work well for the GMAT. I took the diagnostic test in the OG and got at most 2 questions wrong on every section, except SC, which killed me.