700 (39V/47Q, AWA 6.0) Hooray!

Find out how Beat The GMAT members tackled GMAT test prep with positive results. Get tips on GMAT test prep materials, online courses, study tips, and more.
This topic has expert replies
Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts

700 (39V/47Q, AWA 6.0) Hooray!

by gmatliu » Sat Jun 14, 2008 1:42 am
On June 3, 2008, I took the GMAT and scored a 700 (92nd overall): 39V (88th percentile) and 44Q (81st percentile). AWA: 6.0.

It took me four solid months. I learned a good score is not a reflection of your IQ, as some claim. A good score is a result of confidence, knowing how to “manage” the GMAT, and substantive and committed preparation.

Background:
I’m an Asian American female, 24 years old, and went to a top-10 research university in the U.S. (the same one as the moderator who started this forum). I majored in Computer Science but was always more liberal-arts minded. I work in the high tech industry on the business side and look forward to going to business school after 3 years of work experience.

I’ve always found standardized tests difficult, and never felt natural about taking them. The SATs were hard but I got a good score, so I knew that in many ways, the GMAT was going to be the same. For those of you reading this right now and thinking, “is this ever going to end?” The answer is: YES. The GMATs will end and you will get a score you are satisfied with! Not kidding at all on this point.

Preparation:
I got these books:
OG 11th edition
OG Quant Review (Green one)
OG Verbal Review (Purple one)
Manhattan Sentence Correction (the one Eric the moderator recommended)
Princeton 2008 GMAT
Kaplan prep books, material, online prep (the ones you get for taking their $1400 course)

- I studied almost every weeknight and all weekends for four months while working full time. I usually started at 9pm and went to 1am, with some quick breaks in the middle (I get into work at 10:30am and left around 7pm)