670/690/720 in practice tests and 580 on the real thing

Find out how Beat The GMAT members tackled GMAT test prep with positive results. Get tips on GMAT test prep materials, online courses, study tips, and more.
This topic has expert replies
Junior | Next Rank: 30 Posts
Followed by:1 members
GMAT Score:720
Just gave my gmat, got a 580 Q29,V41 and obviously it was heartbreaking....shattered my confidence. I've been studying hard for over 3 months with my focus on Quant, as I have always had a mental block for math. I took 1:1 math classes, finished OG12 twice apart from doing other questions which I collected from different forums on all the topics.

On all my practice tests I was ranging from 670 to 720 (list of tests and scores at the end) with my quant score never dropping below 38.

I was VERY calm, kept myself very relaxed and did not for a single second think that my test was going so bad that I would end up getting a 580.

I plan to retake the exam in the around 30 days. I want to ensure I follow a very focused approach. My problem area has been data sufficiency and I want to make sure this time around I do beat the gmat.

Any suggestions/advice will be SUPER helpful.

Thanks....

--------------------
MGMAT1- 610
MGMAT2 - 670
Gmatprep 1 - 690
Gmatprep 2 - 680
Gmatprep 1 (reinstalled) - 690
Gmat prep2 (reinstalled)- 720

GMAT Instructor
Followed by:123 members
GMAT Score:760

by Geva@EconomistGMAT » Thu Sep 08, 2011 7:25 am
saloniarora wrote:Just gave my gmat, got a 580 Q29,V41 and obviously it was heartbreaking....shattered my confidence. I've been studying hard for over 3 months with my focus on Quant, as I have always had a mental block for math. I took 1:1 math classes, finished OG12 twice apart from doing other questions which I collected from different forums on all the topics.

On all my practice tests I was ranging from 670 to 720 (list of tests and scores at the end) with my quant score never dropping below 38.