650 to 750+ / Wanna get high

This topic has expert replies
Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts

650 to 750+ / Wanna get high

by wapeye » Sat Mar 08, 2014 6:52 am
Dear users,

I'm new to the GMAT journey as I am to the forums. Have taken two practice tests, here's the lowdown:

A) PlatinumGMAT practice test (Beta)- 25Feb14
Score: 630-640 Q47-48 V30-33
This was my 1st test just to gauge where I am. Did not analyze much, but looked up BeatTheGMAT forums which told me GMATPrep tests are better gauging where one stands.

B) GMATPrepTest1 - 05Mar14
Score: 660 Q46 V35 IR8

Reviewed all the questions I marked wrong, and made notes on why I went wrong on each of them. Here's what the analysis says:

Quant : I'm pretty certain I can better my knowledge and reduce silly mistakes.
Verbal : I look kinda beat overall, though RC is a saver (might improve RC time mgmt with practice). Grammar is a big weak point. I do read the newspaper daily, but Indian publications have pretty lame grammar, as may be evident in my writing abilitays y'all :/
Also found myself really pressed for time in Verbal. Does that improve with practice?
IR : got 8, i think it's good, but I attempted 11/12 and was really short of time.

My target score is 750+ for a mid-July attempt. I plan to put in 2 hrs daily making it a 12-14hr week [Only off is Sunday, devoted purely to wife + new born coming in a couple of weeks:)]. How do I look, and what do I do from here?

Specific inputs needed:
1. Resources for content - SC and CR
2. Resources for content - Quant fundamentals
3. Resources for topic specific tips/guides
4. Tips on avoiding silly mistakes
5. Prep timeline/strategy
6. IR tips - dunno what my IR score/attempts mean

Feel free to lay it down/suggest/criticize

PS: Being an entrepreneur keeps me short on dough, so free and best are two words I love; but will buy the right material for the right price :)

Thanks!

GMAT/MBA Expert

Elite Legendary Member
Followed by:511 members
GMAT Score:800