650 (Q47 V34)...Retake?

Find out how Beat The GMAT members tackled GMAT test prep with positive results. Get tips on GMAT test prep materials, online courses, study tips, and more.
This topic has expert replies
Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts

650 (Q47 V34)...Retake?

by babuk » Mon Mar 02, 2009 10:01 pm
Friends,
My blog is going to be long. But I promise it is going to be interesting.

Firstly! 'Beat the GMAT' has been a God send for me:
It's more like 'When the student is ready, the teacher will appear...........(I read this line in APJ Abdul Kalam's book Wings of Fire'. (teacher=Beat the GMAT)'.
Why do I say so?
I had been preparing for GMAT since Oct 2008. My exam was scheduled on 19-Jan-2009. (So I had 3months)
My diagnostic score was 530 (Q 44, V 20~). Around Dec'08 I took some prep-tests. I always scored around 580-600 (Q~48, V~24).
I didn't know what to do. I used to completely go haywire in Verbal. No strategies.... nothing...
Somehow I thought of Pareto's principle..80% of the problems are due to 20% of the reasons.
Basically I started believing that there are only 2-3 things that I need to inculcate in order to move the needle towards that 700 mark.
At that time I started googling and found this 'Beat the GMAT'. It kind of became a daily habit from then on..(':)')
Quick things that I learnt on the blog and practiced...
- Noting down the minutes left at the beginning of every question....
- Timing every question even during practice...(This helped me improve my CR scores a little..although I still had serious problems with CR).
- Taking sets of 15-20 questions (timed) from every section every day. If not anything else, I kept doing this for SC questions...(this helped me drastically reduce time spent on SC questions..less than 40sec per sc qn).
I gave myself 10 days time to do all these...
I took a prep-test on 31-Dec-2008. I got a 690. There were several repeat questions...Still I never got to a 690 before even under similar circumstances.