640 GMAT Score --- Guidance required

Congrats! Tell us how you did it
This topic has expert replies
Senior | Next Rank: 100 Posts

640 GMAT Score --- Guidance required

by sridevipavan » Fri Apr 06, 2012 10:28 am
I cracked the GMAT recently with a score of 640(Q48 V30 AWA5.5).
I took nearly 1.5 years for my preparation.

I gave my first shot 6 months after I started preparing for GMAT and was shattered at my score of 540!!! I started preparing again and studied for another 8 months and got a score of 640. I studied MGMAT SC course and Power Score CR bible(I knew my weak point is Verbal). I was getting a score ranging between 680 and 720 in my practice tests.With that confidence I cracked my GMAT and got a score of 640:-(.

Now I am clueless. I dreamed of top -schools and now I am worried if I do not fit into the top 20 programs. My details are:

Education : Bachelor of Engineering in Computer Science.
Occupation: Senior Software Engineer at a reputed IT service Firm(India)
Marital Status :Married
Years of Exp: 4

I have worked in projects of various domains including Discrete Manufacturing,Supply Chain Management and Banking domain. I am currently working for a client who has a big name in International Banking sector.

Can anyone please guide me in applying to top universities? What are the criteria I should look for in a University when I select the university?(I am interested in finance/general management).

Also, I have heard people saying that IT applicants need to have a very high GMAT score(>700). In that case do I have to retake my GMAT?

Regards
Sridevipavan

Senior | Next Rank: 100 Posts
GMAT Score:660

by wmalum2006 » Tue Apr 17, 2012 7:33 am
The Top 20 US programs have median GMAT's at or above 690 for the full time program, so I do believe that you need to take the test again. I would focus most on the verbal as you said.