620 in GMAT, A doctor from Delhi applying for MBA in US

Figure out where you wish to apply
This topic has expert replies
Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts
hi, a little bit about myself
I am Sumit, a medical doctor, completed my graduation in MBBS ( bachelor of medicine bachelor of surgery) in 2007 from Delhi University ( Ranked among top 5 medical colleges in India). I have a 4 year working experience and a 1 year internship experience from the same college i passed out from , and have been working for last 2 years in one of the best cancer hospitals in India.
I want to do MBA to broaden my scope of work fields, so that instead of being restricted to Hospital clinics, i get a chance to work in Pharmaceutical companies, or other health related industries, for whom i would be a suitable candidate if i hold a MBA degree.

I gave my GMAT today and got a dismal 620 Q-49
V-27( dont know how i got it that bad, but somehow the
questions appeared tougher than usual)

Could anyone please help in in deciding whether i have any chance with any of the top 30 universities in the US of A. I chose to send my scores at Drexel SPH, Emory, South university( Austin Campus) and Kenan Flagler B school.

Thanks
Dr sumit

Master | Next Rank: 500 Posts
Followed by:41 members

by Marc@AcceptU » Mon Oct 22, 2012 11:22 am
Your background is unique but that GMAT score is quite low. If you can retake and pull up your score, these schools will be more aligned and other schools will potentially become an option.
Marc Zawel
Founder, AcceptU
Admissions counseling from former MBA admissions officers.

Learn more about AcceptU or sign up for a complimentary
MBA admissions assessment

Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts

by sumit_ronin » Tue Oct 23, 2012 12:26 am
Thank u Marc...will Retake the exam soon . :)

Master | Next Rank: 500 Posts
Followed by:8 members
GMAT Score:730

by vomhorizon » Thu Nov 29, 2012 1:47 am
Hi Sumit,