600+ Wind

This topic has expert replies
Master | Next Rank: 500 Posts
Followed by:4 members

600+ Wind

by challenger63 » Thu Feb 07, 2013 1:27 am
I correctly answered the question below, but it could be interesting for other members.

So heavy were the storm's rains and hailstones, and its gusts of gale-force wind were relentless, the city took nearly a decade to recover from the monumental hurricane that affected not just a region, but an entire nation.

(A) and its gusts of gale-force wind were relentless,
(B) and the gale-force wind gusts were relentless, so that
(C) its gusts of gale-force wind relentless, that
(D) the gale-force winds were gusting so relentlessly,
(E) so relentless its gusts of gale-force wind, that

Source: VeritasPrep

OA will be latter.
If you find my post useful, please don't hesitate to click thanks button.

I am not an expert, so I can make mistakes. If you see a mistake, please notify me.

Followed by:6 members

by The Iceman » Thu Feb 07, 2013 2:59 am
Both of the following idioms are correct:
so x that y
so x, so y that z

Option E correctly captures the intended meaning, using the latter construction.
Last edited by The Iceman on Sun Feb 10, 2013 10:48 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Followed by:13 members
GMAT Score:700

by hemant_rajput » Thu Feb 07, 2013 8:13 am
i feel that something is wrong with option C

shouldn't it be like this, "its relentless gusts of gale-force wind , that"?
I'm no expert, just trying to work on my skills. If I've made any mistakes please bear with me.

Followed by:3 members

by aman88 » Thu Feb 07, 2013 8:38 am
IMO E
Let us know the OA soon.

Thanks.

by challenger63 » Thu Feb 07, 2013 3:19 pm
OA: E
challenger63 wrote:I correctly answered the question below, but it could be interesting for other members.