590 to 700 Debrief, I guess I beat the GMAT

Find out how Beat The GMAT members tackled GMAT test prep with positive results. Get tips on GMAT test prep materials, online courses, study tips, and more.
This topic has expert replies
Junior | Next Rank: 30 Posts

590 to 700 Debrief, I guess I beat the GMAT

by Saurav16 » Fri Sep 10, 2010 1:49 pm
Hello Everyone,

I just took the GMAT today and I feel that I should write about my experience since I used this forum extensively during my preparation. This might be a little long please bare with me :-)

Background: Undergraduate degree in Electrical Engineering. I have five years of consulting experience. I took the GMAT a few years ago and scored a 590.

Two years ago when I started to study I took Kaplan GMAT prep. I found that the prep for Kaplan was useless. The teacher probably scored well on the GMAT but she couldn't convey the topics and theory properly. She just read from her course book most of the time. Further, the quality of the prep classes, in part, in my opinion (no matter which one you take), is dependent on the kinds of students which comprise the course. If you have students with a varied background and skill set your course will go slowly and may cover redundant material for those who know the basic concepts. Although my undergraduate major was engineering I had not worked a math problem since I left school 3 years back and working in consulting does not really hone your math or verbal skills.