585 to 750 in 2 months - what's worked & free resources

Find out how Beat The GMAT members tackled GMAT test prep with positive results. Get tips on GMAT test prep materials, online courses, study tips, and more.
This topic has expert replies
Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts
In mid-July, I got 585 in Kaplan practice test.
Today, mid-September, I just came back with 750 (Q51, V41).
Just a week ago, my score mumbled around 690-730 and I was really panicked. Just two days before the exam I finally got score over 750, which made me relieved a lot.

Below are my past mock results.

700 8/9/17 Gmat Prep 1
730 8/28/17 Gmat Prep 2
720 9/7/17 Kaplan
755 9/7/17 London Business School
720 9/9/17 Gmat Club
690 9/11/17 Economist
720 9/12/17 Veritas
760 9/13/17 Gmat Prep 3
740 9/14/17 Gmat Prep 4

Quite a lot!
I studied around 3-4 hours a day for the 2 months.

1. Free Resources

1) EmpowerGmat:
I really appreciate the two Empowerment guys. Especially Empowerment is really good at verbal. The method that guy used to crack verbal did work in actual exam. I strongly recommend you to enrol at least 1 hour to learn what strategy he uses to attack verbal.

2) Economist
Economist was especially helpful for Reading Comprehension. After learning its 'Initial Learning' strategy, I seldom struggled with scary passages. Hence it helped me save time on RC. You can renew it after 7 days passed/used up 10% lectures. Its practice questions were also quite like actual GMAT ones.

3) Veritas
Free question bank in Veritas also equipped me with real-time exam sense. Especially its Sentence Correction questions are very good, not because of their own quality rather of its difficulty, because they are ridiculously difficult. I felt real GMAT Sentence Correction was way easier, but it worked anyway because it's true that those questions helped me beat every tricky questions!