550: after 3 months of prep :-(

This topic has expert replies
Junior | Next Rank: 30 Posts
GMAT Score:550

550: after 3 months of prep :-(

by sxdas » Thu Jul 31, 2008 2:15 am
Hello beat-the-gmatters ...

I come with sad news. I've been preparing for this big day today since May 2008. Also underwent a tutorial offered by TPReview. Pls don't mind if this one's getting a little too emotional. It's bcos I just got back from the test center with a score report saying 550: (M-47; V-18 :roll: ). And, the essay was my best so far. Everything went well except for the last 75 mins of the exam. I still can't figure out what exactly happened to me then. I had set realistic goals of a 640-660 as my test scores prior to that were as follows:

TPR Diagnostic : 480, May 1st week
PowerPrep 1 : 550, May 4th week
TPR CAT scores - 580, 620
PowerPrep 2 : 580

My preparation material included - OG11, OG11 Quant Review, Manhattan SC 2007 - No more, No less.

Of course, GMAT tests endurance when it comes to Verbal. And, it is quite a herculean task to keep that up throughout the test. And I guess, this is what caught me. Now, can someone (of the likes of Stacey Koprince) help me analyze my standing as I plan to book a date in September(around the 20th. Taking it too soon would be punishing. Isn't that so?). I'd be extremely delighted if someone could shed some light and view my approach from a totally different angle.

I plan to set a realistic goal of no less than 670 this time, and verbal being my prime attention @ 2.5hrs a day till next test day. Help me beat-the-gmat cos this time I got beaten, rather. Any suggested material? Or the approach while solving OG problems? I tend to rush through my wrong answers (without spending too much time. Even if I did, I don't think it would have helped me, or maybe it would. I'm just a bag of doubts now.Arrrgh!)

Daz

GMAT/MBA Expert

GMAT Instructor
Followed by:694 members
GMAT Score:780

by Stacey Koprince » Thu Jul 31, 2008 8:46 am