1st Attempt, #590, beathegmat.com Debriefing~ :))

Find out how Beat The GMAT members tackled GMAT test prep with positive results. Get tips on GMAT test prep materials, online courses, study tips, and more.
This topic has expert replies
Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts
Hi All,

First off let me apologize if this is a little choppy. I used Dragon to write it since I didn't feel like typing.

I just took the GMAT for the first time. I would like to take it again, but due to time constraints I probably won't have time to take it again before applying for schools.

This site has been a great resource for me, and I wanted to share what I've learned about test prep, my experience in preparation, and my experience in taking the actual test, in order to help other would-be test takers.

Starting about five months ago I began preparing for the GRE. I studied for the GRE for about a month and a half but when I realized some of the schools I wanted to apply to would not accept it, I decided to change gears and start studying for the GMAT instead. I took the Veritas Prep GMAT prep class. I had done some research on the different GMAT preparation programs out there and decided to go with Veritas Prep because it seemed to have the highest overall rating. I did the home program with online classes, it took about six weeks and I found it to be a good program. I studied in my spare time, but had limited time to study since I work about 70 hours a week. I took the last two weeks off from work, and studied about 2 hours a day.

I took 3 Veritas Prep practice tests, I score 580 on the first one, 590 on the second and 610 on the 3rd. I was weakest on quant, so I spent the majority of time working on quant problems. I spent so much time on quant that I ignored verbal almost altogether until the last couple days. My last day I spent about 3 hours making a summary sheet, and going over verbal material, and planning my timing strategy.