10yr since undergrad, 3yrs since failed CFA, 1yr since DAD..

This topic has expert replies
Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts
Hi everybody - new joiner here.

A bit about myself first - as nothing more charming thank spilling guts to complete strangers - but I'm hoping the collective wisdom of this forum can help me best strategize my attempt at beating the GMAT

From the title, its been a while since I graduated from my Engineering undergrad degree. Since graduating I've been working predominantly in trading and finance - Oil and Gas to be precise. About 3 years ago I was implored by my work to take the CFA - for which I registered and studied for - and failed. Between work, personal life and lack of discipline in self study I really stood no chance (I realize this in hindsight). Fortunately, firm covered all expenses. And yet more fortunately, I'm still employed by them :-) - so no harm, no loss to me.

About a year ago, I became a first-time dad. Its a continuous struggle to manage face time with boss and face time with the young un - but I'm doing well thus far. And my wife is a super human!

All that said, I've been strongly contemplating doing an MBA. Primary reason, is I want to venture into a different career path of entrepreneurship. I have enough money saved to fund for a complete MBA (executive or otherwise). I also have learnt from my past mistakes, and I have enough money saved to fund for prepping for GMAT.

SO here's where we get to...

- Aim is to get >700
- Aim is to apply for fall 2016, or winter 2016/2017 admissions
- deadlines for the schools i am interested in are rolling - with many cut off at March.
- I usually pull 10-11 hours of work, and then at least couple of hours with the kid on weekdays before he sleeps by 9ish. Thereafter, I have a window of about 90-120 mins to do some self studying.