What GPA/GMAT is needed to get into a top 5 school?

Launched April 26, 2006
This topic has expert replies

GMAT/MBA Expert

MBA Admissions Consultant
Followed by:148 members

by Lisa Anderson » Sun Dec 19, 2010 6:11 pm
johnny2011 wrote:Hello Lisa,

I graduated from with a Master's in Applied Statistics at DePaul, with a 3.2 GPA. My undergraduate GPA at Ohio State was not strong (2.4), as I majored in Biology. I took several Business courses at Ohio State, before switching my major.

I have two years sales experience, prior to my Master's program, and two years as a Risk Analyst at a Bank following my Master's. I will be able to produce solid recommendations.

Will my improved GPA in a difficult quantitative discipline be looked upon favorably or is it not high enough to offset my low undergraduate GPA? Also, I would like to know what range of GMAT score I should aim for to receive serious consideration from top 20-30 schools based on my current profile.

Thanks!
Dear johnny2011,

Your improved performance in a quantitative master's program will be an asset to your application and help mitigate your undergraduate record. A strong GMAT will further solidify your aptitude for business school in the eyes of the admissions committee; I would aim for 680+ to be in a competitive range for the top 30. You will also have your essays and recommendations to present your background, so use those to your advantage in making a case for a seat in the class.

Good luck,
Lisa
Lisa Anderson
Consultant
Stacy Blackman Consulting

Learn more about me

GMAT/MBA Expert

by Lisa Anderson » Sun Dec 19, 2010 6:15 pm
Apollo13 wrote:Hello,