Profile evaluation

Free advice from the world's top MBA consultants
This topic has expert replies
Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts

Profile evaluation

by sb_14 » Thu Nov 20, 2008 2:39 am
HI
I have scored a poor 600 (49Q,23 V) even though my score in Manhattan tests was 650-700.I feel i can score better but I am planning to go in August 2009.
Please suggest what should i do after going thru my profile:
I am an Indian Engineer with a 72 % aggregate from one of the top most engineering colleges.
Currently working with IBM from India location as a system engineer.
Work ex:1.5 yrs and by the time I go it would be 2 yrs.
No extra ordinary extra-curriculum activities.
Should I retake exam or go with this score.
When should I apply think about 2009 or 2010 for best prospects.
Please reply its urgent.

Thanks and regds
Saurabh

Legendary Member
Followed by:7 members

by Cindy Tokumitsu » Sat Nov 22, 2008 6:28 am
Hello, Saurabh,

With your profile overall, you would be competitive at mid level MBA programs in the US. I don’t know the details of your career – it’s impressive to work with IBM, but the adcoms will also want to know the quality of your work experience: i.e., did you have a substantial impact, did you advance rapidly relative to your peers. You also didn’t mention your goals, and having well-formed and interesting goals will also be important. The factors preventing you now from targeting top-20 level programs are low GMAT, no clear differentiation from an over-represented group (Indian technology professionals), poor extracurriculars, and short work experience (this will weigh more at some programs than others).