Extremely Confused.

This topic has expert replies
Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts

Extremely Confused.

by wcgulick » Fri May 29, 2015 4:35 pm
I'll make this as short as possible.

I'm extremely confused by the GMAT math section.

I started out with the Princeton Review book and practice exams + online stuff. I took a few of the online practice tests and got 580-600 (average for the school I want is 604). So I figured I was doing pretty well.
I went to take the real exam (admittedly under conditions I shouldn't have but that's a whole other story) and got 440 overall. I don't remember the individual scores.

So I decided the best way to go about this was to go back and look at what I was doing wrong. This revealed significant weakness in math for inequalities and quadratics. In English the only stumbling block was sentence correction.

So I studied up on where I was going wrong for about a month. In that time I spent maybe an hour total on English and days upon days on math. I even memorized my squares, cubes, rules etc with flash cards.

Then I went to take the exam again. Circumstances were better but the math section consistently threw questions at me that I had NO idea how to answer. In fact of the 37 questions 19 were DS (how does that even happen!?). In the entire exam I found one inequality and three quadratics and I'm pretty sure that I got all of those right. However, my final score was 510, 40 on Verbal and 20 on Quant. So with no studying to speak of I blew the English section out of the water and with massive amounts of studying I bombed the math section. (Also a 6 on the essay and 6 on IR).

So with that essay and 91st percentile on the Verbal I think we can say that I have that down pretty well. I could do a bit better on the IR. However the math section just has me perplexed. I have no idea where I'm going wrong. Obviously I need to retake the exam and work on my math before I do, but I don't even know where to start.