Total Beginner - Advice

Launched September 22, 2008
This topic has expert replies
Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts

Total Beginner - Advice

by krsrinath » Sun Aug 10, 2014 5:15 am
Respected Experts,

I am 21 & have just completed my Chartered Accountancy (along with Bachelors in Commerce). I wish to apply for an MBA programme. My dad did his from from ISB but is encouraging me to go abroad.

I came to know about GMAT recently but I don't have anyone who is attempting the exam in my circle. So practically a total novice, I had a few queries (Sorry if I sound lame):

1. Do I need to have work experience to get into these top BSchools? (I completed my mandatory 3-yr internship for my C.A.)

2. Which is the best institute where I can get a complete & reliable GMAT coaching (I am in Hyderabad but willing to relocate. Are there online options too?)

3. Ideal time required to prepare for GMAT?

4. Can I finish GMAT in the next few months or so & later gain a good work experience of 2-3 yrs?

5. Can I work & study for GMAT simultaneously?

6. Other criteria for candidate selection by top BSchools?

My major concern is if I do not take up a job by September I will not be treated as a C.A. fresher (hence the urgency)

Thanks in Advance.

GMAT/MBA Expert

MBA Admissions Consultant
Followed by:2 members

by Eliot » Mon Aug 11, 2014 6:35 am
Hello krsrinath,

Thank you for your post!

Work experience is highly valued in b-school admissions. Most incoming MBA students have 4-6 years of work experience, and are generally 26-28 years of age. Having a slightly more extensive job record (three years minimum) would allow you to be a more compelling and successful applicant. This would also give you the time necessary to really build up your professional profile, which would include gaining more responsibility, leadership chances, and a wider range of quantifiable accomplishments (revenue generated, costs saved, etc.).