Please evaluate my profile.

Free advice from the world's top MBA consultants
This topic has expert replies
Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts

Please evaluate my profile.

by jmihoc » Tue Aug 19, 2008 12:17 pm
I would appreciate it if someone could take a look at my profile. I will be applying to evening programs in the DC area this Fall.

GPA
- Undergrad - 3.0 overall, 3.57 for the last 60 credits, I didn't do so well my first two years, I will most likely use the optional essay to explain my GPA.
- Graduate - 3.42 M.S. in Information Systems. How does this figure into my GPA, is it averaged into the undergrad or counted seperately?
- Both undergrad and graduate are from regional public schools

GMAT - I haven't taken the GMAt yet but I have been scoring 630-650 on my practice tests.

Experience - 6 years, at time of matriculation, in government contracting/IT industry. I work as a contractor for the U.S. State department and I am the team lead for 3 Database Engineers, we manage a mid-to-large sized production system for the Consular Affairs Bureau. I have won a couple of awards both from the company I work for and our customer (Consular Affairs). I have industry certifications and I hold a secret level DOD clearance, if that will help, I don't really know.

Activities: I had to work 30+ hours a week when I was an undergrad to pay for school, so I didn't participate in extra-curricular
actitivities, other than 2 years of Martial arts, I am half way to earning my black sash in Kung-Fu.

Demographics: I am married with 2 children and will be 30 when I matriculate.

I am shooting for the following programs

1. Georgetown (evening)
2. Maryland (evening or weekend)
3. George Washington (evening)

Thanks,

John

MBA Admissions Consultant
Followed by:6 members

by Scottie@VeritasPrep » Tue Aug 19, 2008 4:18 pm