Apply this year or next year to MBA?

Share tips as you apply, write essays, interview...
This topic has expert replies
Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts

Apply this year or next year to MBA?

by dpw28 » Thu Aug 15, 2013 2:45 pm
Hello - I'm looking for some feedback on my application dilemma at the moment, so all responses are appreciated!

I've tried to highlight what I view as important below.

My background:
28 year old EU citizen, living in NY
"¢ 3 year undergraduate degree in business/marketing, with year 3 spent studying abroad in different EU country.
Lived and worked for 5 years in that different country, setting up two companies along the way.
"¢ For the last year of the 5, at the same time as starting a company, I completed a Masters in Finance
"¢ I've worked in Finance in NYC in a mid-sized investment management company ($7bn AUM) as an investment analyst since 2011
"¢ EC activities: volunteer with a non-profit since 2011 teaching financial education to low income New Yorkers
"¢ I will be applying as an international student (green card in process)
Undergraduate GPA - 3.2 approx. (I have not officially converted it yet)
Graduate GPA - 2.9 ( I was setting up a company at the same time)
"¢ Anticipated GMAT - 700+ (I won't apply if its lower)

So my question is this: do I apply now or wait another year to improve my resume.

My goal is a top 10 ranked MBA. I feel that anything less than that will not give me the salary bump and/or career progression opportunities that would compensate for the direct and indirect MBA costs.

Factors to consider:

"¢ I have a financial certification exam that I need to take, with two tests spread out over the next six months. This will take up a lot of my spare time. My plan is to start studying for my GMAT next April/May, with an eye on a round one application. Or studying this in October this year for 2 months with GMAT in December.