railway journey

This topic has expert replies
Master | Next Rank: 500 Posts
Followed by:13 members
GMAT Score:700

railway journey

by hemant_rajput » Sat Jan 26, 2013 10:41 am
Q2 . The duration of a railway journey varies as the distance and inversely as the velocity, the velocity varies directly as the square root of the quantity of coal used per kilometer , and inversely as the number of carriages in the train. In a journey of 50 km in half an hour with 18 carriages, 100 kg of coal is required . How much coal will be consumed in a journey of 42km in 28 min with 16 carriages.

a. 53.76
b. 179.33
c. 47.51
d. 48.43
e. None of these
[spoiler]oa:a[/spoiler]
I'm no expert, just trying to work on my skills. If I've made any mistakes please bear with me.

GMAT/MBA Expert

GMAT Instructor
Followed by:120 members
GMAT Score:770

by Tommy Wallach » Sat Jan 26, 2013 4:38 pm
Hey Hemant,

First step. Before posting a question, please make sure there are no typos or errors. Even a couple missing words can make a question mega-confusing for folks, and I see a couple errors here. Also, this is not remotely a realistic question. There are no questions on the GMAT that require you to do problem solving math and then have an answer choice "none of the above". It does not happen. On may levels, this is NOT a realistic GMAT question. ALSO, the given information has a BUNCH of unnecessary information, which doesn't happen on the GMAT. In short, this is a ridiculous question. Now, onwards!

We know that a 50km journey that lasts 30 minutes and has 18 carriages, 100kg of coal is consumed.

The original velocity was 50/30 km per minute, or 5/3 . The new velocity is 42/28, or 3/2.

That relationship, (5/3)/(3/2), or 10/9, represents the square root of the quantity of coal per kg relationship, so that relationship should be 100/81.

We already know that the first journey required 2kg of coal per km, so:

2/x = 100/81 162 = 100x x = 1.6

42 * 1.6 = 67.2