760, Q50, V43

Find out how Beat The GMAT members tackled GMAT test prep with positive results. Get tips on GMAT test prep materials, online courses, study tips, and more.
This topic has expert replies
Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts

760, Q50, V43

by ripburnzoom » Fri Jan 06, 2012 3:48 am
Hey guys

This is probably the 1st time in my life I am writing about anything closely related to studies, so this is dedicated to all u back-benchers out there! We too can crack the GMAT!

I am Jai Gandhi, from Kolkata, India.I hold an engineering degree in Biotechnology and work in my family-owned Pharmaceutical company.I took the GMAT yesterday i.e. 5th Jan.

I decided to start preparing for the GMAT back in July 2011.I started with with the usual research about what the exam is about, the different sections of the exam and the basic syllabus.In August 2011, I took the GMATprep exam and scored a 620.I immediately knew that verbal was my weakness and I gave myself 6 months to prepare for the my 1st attempt.

I also joined BeattheGMAT and the GMATClub and I cannot even imagine myself doing anything without these forums.Not a day has gone by without me reading articles posted by various people who wrote their GMAT experiences in detail and I think those narratives have taught me more than any other book or testprep software. A HUGE thank you to BeatTheGMAT :) :)

I have taken the CAT(entrance exam for the IIMs in India) before so I guess as far as Quant is concerned I was ok.I just had to refresh my concepts.Most of my effort was towards Verbal.

Materials Used:
Quant :
OG, OG supplement each of them twice.

Free tests on BeatTheGMAT

6 Manhattan tests :After finishing the tests I redid the quant sections of all 6, since I found them extremely useful and the explanation to every Question, irrespective of whether I got it right or wrong, always taught me something new.So Hats off to the Manhattan Mocks

Verbal :

SC : Manhattan SC is god.'Nuf said! :-D