How to improve verbal (and cross the 600 barrier?)

This topic has expert replies
Master | Next Rank: 500 Posts
Followed by:2 members
Hello All

I am here to seek some advice on my verbal (I am a non-native eng speaker). I will try to be as short as possible but please ask any info.

When i first sat my GMAT (without any preparation) my official score was 380 Q 22 V 20

Then I studied Quant and CR and RC (no SC) my next official attempt was 510 Q 35 V 25

With another two months of thorough preparation (but this time i gave minimum time to CR and RC. Studied SC big time and now i am good at SC) my official score was 550 Q 39 V 27.

In all the scores my verbal score was 20 without any preparation. I dont know what am i doing wrong! This time i gave very little time to CR and RC and focused on SC as I thought SC was hurting my score. It only increased 2 points compared to last time even after i studied MGMAT SC twice and understood it!

I really need some tips on Verbal (CR and RC) as I need to cross the 600 barrier and it seems it wont be possible unless I can improve my verbal score. I have CR Powerscore guide. Is it the best book to be reading? Also, what should i do for RC?

I gave some MGMAT CATs too

27 Aug 2011 - MGMAT CAT
Q 41 V 31 Total 590

17 Sep 2011 - MGMAT CAT
Q 35 V 33 Total 570

18 Sep 2011 - MGMAT CAT
Q 36 V 35 Total 600
(I am guessing the verbal scores were inflated because of old questions?)

20 Oct 2011 - GMAT Prep
Q 35 V 25 Total 510

31 Oct 2011 - Official score
Q 39 V 27 Total 550

Thanks in advance!

GMAT Instructor
Followed by:255 members
GMAT Score:750

by Brian@VeritasPrep » Wed Nov 02, 2011 11:26 am
Hey Mel,

Congratulations on some great score improvements! That's a ton of progress and a great testament to the work you've done thus far.