SC in OG

This topic has expert replies
Senior | Next Rank: 100 Posts

SC in OG

by Ashetty » Tue Sep 27, 2011 6:06 pm
Is OG sentence correction questions level is normal in actual gmat?. I studied Manhattan sc almost everything. Still finding OG questions difficult and confusing specially verb form. Since I have one week left for my test and have started sweating looking at OG question.I was feeling very confident few weeks back and scored better in preptest compare to RC &CR.Anyone has any suggestions??.Shall I go through the sc manhattan book again??.Is it a good approach??.

GMAT Instructor
Followed by:255 members
GMAT Score:750

by Brian@VeritasPrep » Wed Sep 28, 2011 8:46 am
Hey Ashetty,

Glad you brought this up! Perhaps one of the bigger challenges out there with studying grammatical rules for GMAT SC is taking those rules and applying them - having the ability to use them and not just "know them". So I wouldn't suggest "going through the SC book again". The challenge is taking those fundamentals and applying them to thought processes and techniques - make the strategies and rules work for you.

So for example, you mention verbs as a challenge. You can know the verb tenses backward and forward (present, past, past perfect, present progressive, subjunctive, etc.) but you don't get points for knowing those terms. You get points for being able to determine when a verb tense doesn't make sense. For example:

As I was writing this post I will check for grammar and punctuation.

That's wrong, because the phrase "as I was writing" is in the past and the phrase "I will" is in the future. That's an illogical timeline - it just doesn't work. Similarly:

As I was writing this post, I had checked for grammar and punctuation.

Again, this is illogical. "As I was writing" sets up the timeline that those two things (writing and checking) happened at the same time, so it's illogical to set one before the other - I've already said "the same time".