Long post, seeking guidance...doubting my intelligence~

This topic has expert replies
Junior | Next Rank: 30 Posts
Hello,

I've been pretty depressed the last couple of days, and I feel like I can't improve. I started studying for the GMAT in May, enrolled in the MGMAT prep course, and did the required homework. I also reviewed the materials again before class and went over the chapter review questions I got wrong to understand the concept behind each question.

After the prep course was over, I went over each quant book again, reread the materials and did quite well on the review questions. I also went over the OG12 questions that the prep books correlate to, and kept an error log of all the questions I got wrong. For each wrong answer, I reviewed both the official explanation along with the MGMAT companion and made notes on why I got the questions wrong.

I studied everyday for 2-3 hours on weekdays and 6 hours or so on the weekend. I started to notice how I was getting mentally fatigued and began taking Fridays off as a day to rest. Anyway, my score has not improved at all and I'm starting to question if I'm just naturally dumb regardless of how well I did in college.

I started off with MGMAT CAT with a 340, and got screwed because I made the CAT exam time each verbal question at 1:17 and each quant question at 2:00. So while reading a RC passage, by the time I get to the 4th paragraph, the question would skip. Same with RC questions (I thought the timed per question option meant it gives you the set time to answer the question, but you can go over the time as long as if you finish within 75 minutes per section as a way to practice pacing yourself).

MGMAT 2 - 600
MGMAT 3 - 560 (I was surprised by this score. I took the exam in my room when it was really hot and stuffy since my local library was closed due to Labor Day. I thought I was going to get <350 since I couldn't concentrate at all and my neighbor's dog kept barking)
MGMAT 4 - 540
MGMAT 5 - 470