Futility of 4 months of efforts - 640 (Q44, V 33)

Find out how Beat The GMAT members tackled GMAT test prep with positive results. Get tips on GMAT test prep materials, online courses, study tips, and more.
This topic has expert replies
Senior | Next Rank: 100 Posts
Hello Everyone,

Took my GMAT last week and was knocked down with a 640 (Q44/V33).Feeling terribly depressed.somehow, a score of 44 in quant is tough to assimilate because i am an engineer.The biggest challenge is, i am not able to figure out what went wrong? I seek advice from all of you and experts.

AWA:
I had a framework/template within which the two essays fit nicely and breezed through it.It helped me to be at ease and take some tension off the exam.I suggest people to prepare for the AWAs nicely and complete it within time because faltering on this section may snowball into bigger disasters.(not that i haven't inspite of doing well in AWA)its like a domino effect!! so do not neglect this bit at all.

QUANT:
It started with moderate difficulty questions. i started getting easy questions after 30-32 questions.Ran out of time in the end and had to quickly guess 2 questions at the end which looked like no-brainers.Probably faltering on the easiest questions has led to a higher penalty.

VERBAL:
Started with an easy SC.The RC's became tougher each time.in CRs i could paraphrase most of the questions before answering.some of the SC's were tough initially which did not fit into the 7 error types or combos.after that i started getting easier SC by the end , probably i had lost the battle by then.I completed the questions with 1 minute to spare.
i am unable to derive any conclusion or learning out of the verbal part. :(

Anyways thats my story of the failure and i pray to god that no one else gets a score like this.I had put 4 months of honest study.Never scored below 690 in either MGMATs or GMAT preps and thats what hurts the most, the futility of 4 months of effort.