6 days to the real test and practice scores took a huge hit

This topic has expert replies
Junior | Next Rank: 30 Posts
Followed by:1 members
Hi,

This is my first post. I've been studying for the GMAT since April 4, 2011. I'm just about to finish a princeton review course and I've been using the 12th edition of the official guide. I was consistently scoring higher on each successive exam, except well now:

Test 1: 570 (35Q, 34V, taken with no previous prep)
Test 2: 610 (48Q, 26V)
Test 3: 640 (45Q, 33V)
Official Test: 650 (45Q, 35V, from the software available at mba.com, I took this end of April)
Test 4: 590 (42Q, 30V, taken 5/14)
Test 5: 560 (36Q, 31V, taken 5/15)

Before I took test 4 I did a bunch of review on some of my weaker areas on verbal and then I took the exam later that afternoon. I was very disappointed when I finished. Today I reviewed Test 4's results and noticed I had missed a bunch in the first 10 problems on Verbal and the 2nd problem on Math, something that I normally don't miss.

After reviewing those problems I took Test 5. I ended up missing a bunch of problems in the first 10 on math and I even started off verbal with the first problem wrong. What I don't get is how in the world did my score drop so drastically...in just a span of 2 days?!

I've registered to take actual exam on 5/21. Right now my schedule is going to be pretty consistent this week so I hope to cram in as many practice problems as I can, except on Friday where I plan to just relax.

I was really looking forward to breaking 720 on this exam, but now, I don't know how to make the most of this last week. Please help, I know you guys are the 780+ crowd so I came here first :)

Senior | Next Rank: 100 Posts
GMAT Score:760

by hcueva » Mon May 16, 2011 7:42 am
LizardFace,

I don't get it, are all your cats PR cats except for your 650 cat, which is GMATPrep?