GMAT Help!

Congrats! Tell us how you did it
This topic has expert replies
Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts

GMAT Help!

by terribletowel » Sat Feb 12, 2011 12:30 pm
Hi All,

I took my GMAT in October 2010 and I got a 470. My highest practice score was 570 (the second practice I took) and all of my practice exam scores range from 510-570. I took the Manhattan GMAT course and studied on and off for about couple of months. However, there is a little gap in my study period. I finished my strategy guides in April 2010 and from that point on I just studied and did problems from the OG book until my exam date of October 2010. Was that a mistake? If I alter my study method will it help?

I was devastated with the result and I couldn't open a book for a good few months. I recently started studying and I just completed 2 of the 8 strategy guides and plan to complete them all again. I would like to increase my score by about 100-150 points and plan to retake the exam in the next 2-3 months. Is that realistic? I have signed up for the 60 day study guide from Beat the GMAT. I am not in any type of time constraint so I can take as long as I would like for studying, but I would like to take the exam before June.

I would appreciate any feedback I can get from the forum on how to improve my score and study better and more efficiently.

I was planning on completing all of the strategy guides on the weekdays (my job gives me flexibility to study 2-3 hours a day on the job) and do OG questions on the weekends. IS that an effective plan?

Thanks and again appreciate any advice I can get.

HA

Senior | Next Rank: 100 Posts
Followed by:1 members
GMAT Score:650

by anuptvm » Sun Feb 13, 2011 4:22 am
Hi,

I guess you got all the ammunition that you need to fire away :)

The OG guide is good to familiarize yourself with the kind of questions that you would come across, however it doesn't teach you the tips and tricks that are needed to solve fast and solve correctly.